Sheriff's Office

Sex Offender/Crimes Against Children Registration

Main Phone: (775) 328-3023

Monday-Thursday 7:30 to 4:00  Excluding Holidays   

Closed for Lunch 12-1 

Under Nevada Revised Statute 179D, a convicted person who remains in the Washoe County Sheriff's Office jurisdiction for a period of more than 48 hours is required to register with the Sheriff's Office. A convicted person, except a nonresident, who is required to register under NRS 179D must register any change of address within 48 hours of changing the address.

NRS 179D Registration after conviction; duties and procedure; offender informed of duty to register; effect of failure to inform; duties and procedure upon receipt of notification from another jurisdiction or FBI

A person that has registered with the Nevada Sex Offender as required by NRS 179D.350 thru 179D.550 inclusive is required to verify the information contained in their registration, submit a current photograph, and have fingerprints taken according to the schedule based on their assigned tier level.  Any questions concerning tier levels or dates of registration please contact:
Nevada SOR
333 W. Nye Lane, Suite 100
Carson City, NV 89706
ALL Registrants must present one of the following types of personal identification is necessary in order to register:
  • Valid driver's license
  • State-issued identification card
  • Current U.S. issued passport
When required to register at the local level with Washoe County Sheriff’s Office, there will be no cost.
If a registrant is traveling outside of the United States, the registrant is required to notify the local law enforcement agency of their residence jurisdiction of the intended travel at least 21 days in advance. 
For more information please reference the following resources: and click on Registration Information., the NSOPW (National Sex Offender Public Website) is another great resource for the public.